MeNu2013, the 13th International Conference on “Meson-Nucleon Physics and the Structure of the Nucleon” ( was held in Rome (Italy) from September 30th to October 4th 2013.

The Conference belongs to a series started in Karlsruhe, Germany (1983) and continued in Los Alamos, USA (1987), Gatchina/Leningrad, Russia (1989), Bad Honnef, Germany (1991), Boulder, USA (1993), Blaubeuren, Germany (1995), Vancouver, Canada (1997), Zuoz, Switzerland (1999), Washington DC, USA (2001), Beijing, China (2004), Juelich, Germany (2007), and Williamsburg, USA (2010). More than 200 physicists, both experimental and theoretical, convened from all over the world with the aim of exchanging expertise and confronting different approaches to the study of quark confinement and to the understanding of how hadrons are formed of quarks and gluons in a quantitative way.

The Conference featured invited as well as contributed talks, with morning plenary sessions and afternoon parallel sessions, covering the following topics:

  • Hadron Spectroscopy
  • Nucleon Structure
  • Few-Body Systems
  • Meson-Nucleon Interactions
  • Electro-weak Probes and Fundamental Symmetries
  • New Trends in Theory
  • Future Facilities and Directions

The experimental efforts carried on in many accelerator facilities through the world (JLab, MAMI, Bonn, GSI, CERN, J-PARC, BesIII, LNF) were presented, covering the search for exotic mesons and missing baryons, the spin and flavor contents of the proton, the investigation of the strange sector of the nuclides, the study of parity and time-reversal violating effects. Some of the latest phenomenological tools and theoretical models, which allow for a multidimensional picture of hadrons, have been reported and compared with data, aiming at achieving a deeper understanding of the non-perturbative regime of QCD.

The International Advisory Committee was composed of distinguished and widely known physicists in the field ( and guaranteed high standards for the choice of topics and speakers.

MeNu 2013 was preceded by the PWA7 satellite workshop (, which took place at Camogli (Ge) on 23-27 September 2013 and addressed the problem of disentangling contributions from overlapping resonances through partial wave analysis. Hints of physics beyond the Standard Model where covered by the satellite meeting on “New generation of beam dump experiments to search for Dark Matter”, which followed MeNu 2013 in the same venue.

The full program, including all the presentations, is available on-line at the Conference website

MeNu2013 was organized with the support of the Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare (INFN), it was sponsored by the Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility (JLab), the Jefferson Science Associates (JSA), the University of William and Mary, the University of Rome “Tor Vergata” and CAEN. It was also endorsed by the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP).

The next edition of the MeNu Conferences has been agreed to take place in Japan in 2016.

Local Organizing Committee and Board of Scientific Editors

Annalisa D'Angelo – Chair
Physics Department, University of Roma Tor Vergata
and INFN Roma Tor Vergata
Via della Ricerca Scientifica 1, 00133, Roma, Italy

Marco Battaglieri
INFN Genova
Via Dodecaneso, 33 , 16146 , Genova, Italy

Raffaella De Vita
INFN Genova
Via Dodecaneso, 33, 16146, Genova, Italy

Alessandro Pascolini
University of Padova and INFN Padova
Via Marzolo 8, 35131 Padova, Italy

Giovanni Salmè
INFN Roma La Sapienza. Aldo Moro, 2, 00185 Roma, Italy

International Advisory Committee

Patrizia Rossi (JLab and INFN LNF)
Marco Ripani (Genoa)
Stan Brodsky (SLAC)
Eberhard Klempt (Bonn)
Fan Wang (Nanjing)
Klaus Peters (GSI)
Simon Eidelman (Novosibirsk)
Craig Roberts (Argonne)
Madeleine Soyeur (Saclay)
Bing-song Zou (IHEP, Beijing)
Haiyan Gao (Duke)
Andreas Schaefer (Regensberg)
Wim van Oers (TRIUMF/ Manitoba)
Shin-Nan Yang (Taiwan)
Hans Stroeher (Juelich)
Volker Burkert (Jlab)
Barbara Pasquini (INFN Pavia)
Ulf Meissner (Bonn)
Gunther Rosner (FAIR)
Ben Nefkens (UCLA)
Angela Bracco (Univ. Milan - Nupecc)
Takashi Nakano (Osaka)
Shoji Nagamiya (J-parc)
Constantina Alexandrou (Cyprus)
Lothar Tiator (Mainz)
Michel Guidal (IPNO- Orsay)
David Armstrong (Jlab)
Paola Gianotti (INFN LNF)
Brian Meadows (Cincinnati)
Nora Brambilla (Munich)
Mauro Anselmino (Torino))